Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the 2019 Lamar Electric $1,000 Scholarship Winners

Christina Nicholson Mason Ragsdale McKayla Scott
Sarah Morales Savannah Moore Melissa Stronick

Lamar Electric Cooperative has announced the six $1,000 scholarship winners that were drawn at the Co-op Annual Meeting on Saturday, April 27st .

The six winners can use their scholarship at any accredited university, college, or junior college of their choice.

Scholarship winners were Sarah Morales of Chisum High School, daughter of Ron and Susan Morales of Sumner; Melissa Stronick of Detroit High School, daughter of Laura Jones of the Dimple community; Mason Ragsdale of Paris High High School, son of Shonda Ragsdale of Roxton area; McKayla Scott of Rivercrest High School, daughter of Elizabeth Scott White of the Fulbright community; Christina Nicholson of Chisum High School, daughter of Linda Posey of the Glory community; and Savannah Moore of Prairiland High School, daughter of Kimberly Moore of the Clardy community.

According to Lamar Electric General Manager, Jerry Williams, “The money used for these scholarships is from unclaimed deposits or refunds from our members.”  Williams also stated “The law allows Lamar Electric to use a portion of these funds for scholarships, otherwise the money is turned over to the state.”

Each member can still file a claim with the state of Texas for unclaimed checks.

Lamar Electric Director of Communications, Katie Morris said, “We are proud that Lamar Electric can help these students achieve their educational goals and we encourage every co-op member to take this opportunity to submit the name of your son or daughter next year.”